News from the road…

The Writing Process – sometimes…”Complicated”

I think one of the most amazing things that I can remember hearing was that one one of my songwriting heroes, Billy Joel, wrote songs for his albums (then CDs) and no more. So literally he would sit down, write 10 songs for the recording, and then wait until the next time he needed new songs – or something to that effect. I have to start 10 to finish one that makes it to the stage.

Now, I’m sure there are as many different ways to write songs as there are songwriters, and honestly, every song develops completely differently. But there are a few commonalities that I have found and this is how they have come together in my latest song, “Complicated.”

I’m not sure who it was who said it, possibly Steve Vai, who said something to the effect of, “Usually the first idea you play when you grab your guitar is the best.” That is true just about every time. I think it is because when you grab your guitar, you aren’t trying. You aren’t thinking. You are just playing with the same excitement you had the first time you picked up a guitar. Then, as you start playing, I think you start writing yourself into corners, you lose your creativity, or you get blocked by second guessing.

The first riff I played one day turned out to be the intro hook to “Complicated.”  So far we have only played the song live but when we record the song, it will become more evident, it is as fun to play as it is to hear. That riff really set the tone and basis for the whole song.

One of the really important things I learned from working with Kevin Churko, especially on the song “Nothin’ Left To Talk About”, is that you keep the best part, the high energy part and don’t be afraid to lose the rest. I still remember as he highlighted the demo portion of that song in ProTools from the end of the song, moving forward seemingly endlessly all the way to the end of the intro where he hit, “delete.” After the only thing left was the intro, he turned around and said, “Ok, I like this part…”

He was right – that was the core of the song and that single worked out pretty well. 

I used that same formula on “Complicated.” The verse uses a variation of that same intro rhythm combined with a word-friendly verse melody. I think it is just as important to have a catchy verse now as it is to have a memorable chorus. People just don’t have the attention span that they used to. Hell, how many songs do you hear now that you are ready to turn off after the first chorus? Even when with songs you like? A Lot!

Then as I got to the chorus, there was a note that I wanted it to start on – it didn’t make sense, but I know that it was right. Once I found it, the rest of the song fell into place.

Aaron and Stu really added a bunch of nice accents and things to listen for when you hear the song live. So at the next Lorenzo show, don’t be afraid when you hear me say, “This next song is a brand new one…this song is Complicated,” Just turn to the person you are with and say, “the first note in the chorus really doesn’t make sense, but somehow it works…”

Leave a comment